## Baton Rouge, Louisiana Wins AIAA's Future City Spacial Award

(Bruce Cranford)

AIAA cosponsored Engineers' Week (www.eweek.org) Future City Competition (www.futurecity.org). This is the 12<sup>th</sup> year of the Future City Competition, which fosters interest in math, science, and engineering for seventh and eight-grade students using hands-on, real world applications to create and build a Future City. Regional competitions were held throughout the US, and culminate in 33 first place regional winning teams coming to Washington, D.C. for the national competition during Engineers' Week, February 21, 2004, though Wednesday, February 28, 2004.

This is the second year the AIAA National Capital Section has sponsored the special award for the "Best Use of Aerospace Technology". The AIAA NCS evaluated the 33 regional winners in a rigorous and exhausting competition on February 23 in Washington, D.C. The winner was the St. Thomas More School in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, from the Louisiana regional competition. The name of the Future City was "O'Neill". The three students, Danny Ryann, Chris Smith, and Carl Talbot, along with their teacher sponsor Shirley Newman and engineer mentor Jacque "Jack" Lasseigne, received their awards for "Best Use of Aerospace Technology" at the Special Awards Luncheon, February 25, 2004, at the Hyatt Regency Capital Hill, Washington, D.C. (Figure 1). The awards consisted of a plaque and savings bond for each student presented by the NCS Chapter President -Dave Eakman and Bob Brantner.

The plaque reads"National Engineers Week Future City Competition, National Final, Celebrating 12 Years, February 25, 2004, Washington, D.C., Best Use of Best Use of Aerospace Technology in the Future City, presented by American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, National Capital Section."

The judges developed the evaluation criteria, and interviewed each of the 33 teams in a three-hour marathon session on February 23, 2004. That equates to about 5-minute per interview and evaluation for each team. At the end of the session, both the judges and teams were exhausted. AIAA wishes to thank the National Capital Section and the two volunteer judges, Dave Eakman and Bob Brantner