AIAA Illinois Section



November 26, 2022

Attn: Illinois Section Honors and Awards 2022 Honors and Awards for the Illinois Section

Dear AIAA Illinois Section Members.

This year has been a successful one drawing recognition by AIAA for both individual member and section performance, achievement, and execution. As 2022 draws to a close, I am pleased to announce the following awards granted to the Illinois Section and its members by AIAA.

Individual Award:

Dr. David Carroll, Illinois Section Treasurer, has been awarded the **2023 Sustained Service Award** for his distinguished and sustained service to the AIAA, the enhancement of science, innovation, and entrepreneurial leadership in aerospace engineering, and education of scientist engineers.

Section Awards (Medium):

Third Place – Outstanding Section Award presented based upon overall activities and contributions through the year. (Laura Villfañe Roca, Section Chair)

Third Place – Membership Award presented to sections that have supported their membership by planning and implementing effective recruitment and retention campaigns. (Ashraf Omran, Membership Officer)

Second Place – Public Policy Award presented for stimulating public awareness of the needs of aerospace research and development, particularly on the part of government representatives, and for education section members about the value of public policy activities. (Mordechai Levin and Mark Wendtland, Public Policy Officers)

Third Place – Student Branch Partnership Award recognizes the most effective and innovative collaboration between the professional section members and student branch members. (Andrew Strubhar, Student Branch Liaison)

On behalf of the Illinois Section, I would like to express a sincere congratulations to Dr. Carroll on his individual award and achievement. Additionally, the section recognitions above reflect the significant contributions to the AIAA by the Illinois Section, its members, and officers.

Thank you and congratulations Illinois Section!

Sincerely, Andrew Touvannas Honors and Awards, Illinois Section