



Another Year, Another List of Awards

Not trying to brag or anything, but our AIAA section **just...keeps...winning!** Here's our list of awards for this year: Outstanding section award: 1st Place Communication award: 1st Place Membership award: 1st Place Public Policy: 3rd Place STEM K-12: 1st Place Section-Student Partnership: 1st Place Young Professional: 1st Place Fall 2021 Newsletter Contributors:

Micah Reese, Ryan Sherrill

Micah Reese and Ryan Sherrill, editors

Up Front

Want to be part of the winning team (besides just being outstanding members)? You can be like Philip Thomas who just joined us as the new Membership Chair. We still have vacancies for Honors & Awards Chair and Communications Chair. Just email us at <u>nwfl.aiaa@gmail.com</u> if you're interested.

In This Issue

AIAA Awards / Up Front	1
Local News and Events	2
National News and Events	4
About the Section / Section Officers & Chairs	5

LOCAL ACTIVITY

Awards Banquet

The Northwest Florida section honored two professional members and three educator associates during our section's end-of-the-year banquet. On the professional side, **Dr. Daniel Reasor** won Professional of the Year for his extraordinary dedication, creativity and leadership in the development of modeling and simulation capabilities to advance hypersonic airframes. **Dr.** John Fay won the Achievement Award in recognition for his sustained and outstanding contribution to STEM Outreach, measured by volunteer hours, miles driven to rural schools, and emails sent to university sections. The section also honored Dr. Scott Morton who won the national AIAA Aerodynamics Award for a career devoted to extending the application of CFD to challenging unsteady aerodynamic phenomena, such as transonic flutter, complex vortical flowfields, and maneuvering flight. The AIAA conference where Scott was to receive his award was cancelled due to COVID so the award was presented by Dr. Ryan Sherrill, NW FL AIAA Chair and by Dr. Angela Diggs, NW FL Vice Chair.



On the Educator Associate side, the section honored Mr. David Williams of Bethlehem High School in Holmes County, FL who started one of the first AIAA high school chapters and who's students can earn dual enrollment credit and industry certification. Additionally, he sponsors multiple programs such as the SeaPerch underwater rover competition, the Drone Swarm Programming competition, Higher Orbits, and the Great American Paper Plane Contest. The section also honored **Ms.** Marian Gilmore who is a teacher at Silver Sands, a Special Day School in Okaloosa County FL who registered her school to be a part of Civil Air Patrol's Aerospace Connections in Education (ACE) program, winning National ACE School of the Year in 2020-2021. During the weeks leading up to the Perseverance's Landing on Mars, Ms. Gilmore invited and hosted, virtually, former NASA Astronaut Don Thomas to talk to all the classes about the upcoming rover landing on Mars, sponsored a STEM virtual night, and invited Ms. Janet Ivey of Janet's Planet and President of Explore Mars, who led them virtually through making Lunar Landers. Finally, the section honored **Ms. Alyson McCullough**, a teacher at Hilliard Middle Senior High School in Nassau County FL. She has written and received over fifteen thousand dollars in grant funding to take a two acre field and turn it into a poultry and fruit tree farm and made three guarter acre rotation beds to teach students about crop sustainability. Using the Florida State Standards for Agriculture, students are prepared to take the Agriculture Education Services & Technology certification test which allows students to be set apart from their peers as they work to gain access to on the job training programs, and complete their five credit hours towards Florida Bright Futures Gold Seal Scholarships.

The section award announcements for 2021-2022 will be posed to Engage in the coming weeks.

Associate Fellows



Two NW FL section members were among this year's class of AIAA Associate Fellows. According to AIAA's bylaws, associate fellows are persons who have accomplished or been in charge of important engineering or scientific work, or who have done original work of outstanding merit, or who have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. **Dr. Ryan Sherrill** and **Dr. Kevin Brink** are both employees of the Air Force Research Laboratory and also serve as section officers. Having two associate fellows recognized in the same year is a big win for our section! Drs. Sherrill and Brink will be formally inducted January 3, 2022 during the AIAA SciTech Forum.

UPCOMING NATIONAL AIAA EVENTS

2022 AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (AIAA SciTech Forum)

3 JANUARY - 7 JANUARY 2022 San Diego, CA and Online

2022 AIAA Defense and Security Forum (AIAA DEFENSE Forum)

19 APRIL - 21 APRIL 2022 Laurel, Maryland, USA

2022 AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition (AIAA AVIATION Forum)

27 JUNE - 1 JULY 2022 Chicago, Illinois and Online

See more at the AIAA Events page

OTHER UPCOMING EVENTS

This is a new section of the newsletter! We recognize that there are many relevant events outside of AIAA. If you know of any and want to spread the word, let us know: <u>nwfl.aiaa@gmail.com</u>

2022 IEEE Aerospace Conference

5 MARCH - 12 MARCH 2022 Big Sky, Montana, USA

ABOUT THE SECTION

The Northwest Florida Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Inc. (AIAA NWFL) is home to 289 members (as of May 2019): 124 professionals, 141 educator associates, and 24 students. The section spans 24 counties across northern Florida from Pensacola to north of Jacksonville. These counties are: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwanee, Lafayette, Columbia, Baker, and Nassau. Most of the aerospace-related activities in the AIAA NWFL section are at military installations in the western panhandle.

Officer/Chair Email: nwfl.aiaa@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/NWFL.AIAA/





https://engage.aiaa.org/northwestflorida/home

AmazonSmile and AIAA NWFL

Shop at Amazon.com? Try AmazonSmile with your Amazon.com account and 0.5% of the price of eligible AmazonSmile purchases can go to AIAA NWFL at no cost to you! <u>http://smile.amazon.com/ch/59-3105873</u>

amazonsmile

You shop. Amazon gives.

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair	
Ryan Sherrill	ryan.e.sherrill@gmail.com
Vice Chair	
Angela Diggs	angela.diggs.1@us.af.mil
Secretary	
Micah Reese	reesemn@gmail.com
Treasurer	
Kevin Diggs	<u>kevin.diggs@us.af.mil</u>

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Program Chair		
Eugen Toma	tomaeugen@icloud.com	
Technical Chair		
Kevin Brink	<u>kmbrink@gmail.com</u>	
Membership Chair		
Philip Thomas		
Career Enhancement/Young Professionals Chair		
Alex Straub	alexandra.straub@us.af.mil	
Education/Pre-College Outreach Chair		
Judith Sherrill	udithabsherrill@gmail.com	
Education/College Outreach Chair		
John Fay	john.fay.3.ctr@us.af.mil	
Honors & Awards Chair		
Vacant - looking for volunteers		
Public Policy Chair		
Michael Kelton	michael.kelton.1@us.af.mil	
Communications Chair		
Vacant - looking for volunteers		