National Capital

 View Only

AIAA NCS 2022 Officers Election - Candidate Bios

  • 1.  AIAA NCS 2022 Officers Election - Candidate Bios

    Posted 21 Sep, 2022 12:01
    Each year, the AIAA NCS membership elects their senior officers of the leadership council according to a process documented in their by-laws. Below you can find the biographies for this year's candidates. Please check your email for your ballot and thank you for your continued support of the NCS!

    Chairperson - David Brandt

    David Brandt is Manager of the Space Experience Center for the Space, Strategic, Missile Defense, Technology, Military Space and Commercial/Civil teams at the Lockheed Martin Government Affairs office. He served as a Business Developer at the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics from 1997 to 1999, and from 1988 to 1997, has held increasingly responsible positions within the National Space Society, including serving as Executive Director in 1996-97. Brandt currently serves as Vice Chairman of the AIAA National Capital Section and is a member of the Washington Space Business Roundtable. He has also served on the Lockheed Martin Corporate Volunteer Council, is on the Kent State University Alumni Association’s National Capital Chapter Board, and the Brooke Owens Fellowship Advisory Committee.

    Vice Chair Operations - Steven Brunetto
    AIAA and the National Capital section has been a big part of Steve’s university and early career experience. He has been an active AIAA member for 6 years and has served as branch chair for the George Washington University Branch, and most recently, as the Acting Treasurer of the NCS. As the Vice Chair for Operations, he intends to make it a point to support NCS student branches and to begin to make the NCS a more active and present council for the aerospace community in the DMV area.

    Vice Chair Programs - Andrew Tidwell
    Andrew Tidwell is a Systems Engineer at Northrop-Grumman supporting the development of autonomous control software for the Lunar Gateway Program. He has been a member of the AIAA since college where he served as Webmaster for the Purdue University student branch. He continues to be an active member in the organization, regularly supporting AIAA’s Congressional Visits Day as a member of the Virginia Delegation. Andrew currently serves as the Communications Chair for the National Capital Section where he is responsible for the section’s social media presence and member communications.

    Treasurer - David Spencer
    Dr. David B. Spencer is a senior staff member at The Aerospace Corporation in Chantilly. He is also Professor (Emeritus) of Aerospace Engineering at Penn State University. David is a member (and former chair) of the AIAA Astrodynamics Committee, a former Associate Editor for the AIAA Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, and former treasurer of the AIAA Central Pennsylvania chapter. He is an Associate Fellow of AIAA, a fellow (and Vice President for Publications) of the American Astronautical Society, and a full member of the International Academy of Astronautics.

    Secretary - Michael Barton
    Michael has been an AIAA member since 2007, serving as Vice President of the Mississippi State University student chapter and a 2010 Next Generation of Flight Scholar. Michael served as a student member of the AIAA Public Policy Committee while pursuing a Masters in astrodynamics at Purdue University before moving to the NCS region in 2014. Since 2014, Michael has been an engineer, sales manager, and business development capture lead at local NASA GSFC contractor a.i. solutions in Lanham, MD, and has been the Maryland captain of AIAA Congressional Visits Day multiple years and an AIAA judge for science fairs. Today Michael lives in downtown DC and is excited to serve the Chapter this year.

    Andrew Tidwell
    Orbital ATK
    Leesburg VA