Greater Huntsville Section

 View Only

Help identifying candidates for AIAA Awards

  • 1.  Help identifying candidates for AIAA Awards

    Posted 10 Jun, 2022 08:28

    This past week we sent out a message via e-mail from our current Honors & Awards director, Dr. Joe Majdalani, regarding upcoming AIAA awards.  I'm also posting information here for awareness.  

    The Greater Huntsville Section Honors and Awards Committee is seeking your help in identifying candidates for premier AIAA awards. We need your help in identifying individuals within your institution who may be suitable candidates for the next round of AIAA award applications. These have a July 1st deadline. If you could, please take a moment to review the eligibility criteria for these awards.  All awards (except for the Sustained Service Award) are typically presented at an upcoming SciTech meeting in January. For the Sustained Service Award, the awardees have the flexibility to select their preferred conferences at which the awards will be presented. Should you decide to proceed independently with the nomination, you are most welcome to do so, and the honors and awards committee can provide assistance as needed. Members of the H&A committee can also serve as nominators for section members. The list of upcoming AIAA awards includes:

    1) Aerospace Software Engineering Award

    The Aerospace Software Engineering Award is presented for outstanding technical and/or management contributions to aeronautical or astronautical software engineering. Initially presented annually, beginning in 2007 this award is presented biennially (in odd-numbered years).

    2) Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity

    The AIAA Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity recognizes outstanding contributions to the understanding and application of aeroelastic phenomena. It commemorates the accomplishments of Prof. Holt Ashley, who dedicated his professional life to the advancement of aerospace sciences and engineering and had a profound impact on the fields of aeroelasticity, unsteady aerodynamics, aeroelasticity, and multidisciplinary optimization. The award is presented every four years generally at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum (SCITECH).

    3) de Florez Award for Flight Simulation

    The de Florez Award for Flight Simulation, named in honor of the late Admiral Luis de Florez, is presented for an outstanding individual achievement in the application of flight simulation to aerospace training, research, and development.

    4) Excellence in Aerospace Standardization Award

    The Excellence in Aerospace Standardization Award is presented to recognize substantive contributions by individuals that advance the health of the aerospace community by enabling cooperation, competition, and growth through the standardization process. Such individuals may have been committee chairs, project leaders, or industry executives; the award is intended to recognize substantive accomplishment. Professional activity to be documented in the nomination package should include contributions that occurred within the last 5 years. Specific to this award, AIAA must receive five complete nominations in order for the award to be made. The nominee may not be a member of the Standards Executive Council for the past two years (24 months). This award is generally presented biennially (odd-numbered years). Nomination Deadline: 1 July

    5) Lawrence Sperry Award

    The Lawrence Sperry Award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics. This award honors Lawrence B. Sperry, pioneer aviator and inventor, who died in 1923 in a forced landing while attempting a flight across the English Channel. Note: The recipient must be under 35 years of age on December 31 of the year preceding presentation.

    6) Mechanics & Control of Flight Award

    The Mechanics and Control of Flight Award is presented for an outstanding recent technical or scientific contribution by an individual in the mechanics, guidance, or control of flight in space or the atmosphere. This award is normally given to an individual. However a small team of colleagues (nominally two to four) that have collaborated on a technical contribution may be considered for the award. In this case, the nomination package should be submitted for the team of individuals.

    7) Summerfield Book Award

    The Summerfield Book Award is named in honor of Dr. Martin Summerfield, founder and initial editor of the Progress in Astronautics and Aeronautics series of books published by the AIAA. The award is presented to the author of the best book recently published (within the last five years) by AIAA.

    8) Sustained Service Award

    The Sustained Service Award is presented to recognize sustained, significant service and contributions to AIAA by members of the Institute. The nominee/recipient must be a member in good standing who has shown continuing dedication to the interests of the Institute by making significant and sustained contributions over a period of time, typically 10 years or more. Active participation and service at the local section/regional level, and/or the national level is a potential discriminator in the evaluation of candidates. A maximum of 20 awards are presented each year. These annual awards are presented at a Forum or activity with which the recipient is most associated or active, or may be presented by the recipient's local AIAA section at an appropriate section event. A nomination form, scoresheet and additional information (no more than one page) that provides details to substantiate the scores for various activities is required. Nominees must score a minimum of 100 points on the score sheet. Letters of endorsement are not required for this award. Members of the AIAA Board of Directors are not eligible for this award until their term of service ends. Nomination Deadline: 1 July. This award has minimal requirements but a strong AIAA service record.

    Please feel free to send in your nominations/suggestions to as soon as possible. Finally, should you think of non-AIAA award(s) for which some of our members may be eligible to be nominated for, please feel free to share those as well.

    All Honors and Awards can be found at the links below:



    Tracie Prater